An exact reconstruction of a synagogue destroyed in 1948
Initially erected in 1904 by Hungarian Jews
Serves as a place of prayer on holy and weekdays
In accordance with Ministry of Health regulations - Visitors who have been to China, Hong Kong, Macau, Singapore, Thailand, South Korea, Italyin the past 14 days are requested to cancel their tours and receive a full refund at the ticket office or the reservations office - *5958. We would be happy to reschedule a tour of one of the Western Wall Tunnels sites in the near future! Praying for health of all in Israel and around the world.* For more information please check the Israel Ministry of Health website.https://govextra.gov.il/ministry-of-health/corona/corona-virus/
Accessibility of the Western Wall Tunnels - Important Message!Due to construction work, wheelchairs will not be accessible in the Western Wall Tunnels. The Fund's management apologizes for the temporary inconvenience. "A Look into the Past" is still wheelchair accessible.We apologize for the inconvenience.
The Chain of Generations Center is getting a new look!Due to the renovation, the site will be closed to visitors between May 5, 2019 - June 12, 2019.We invite you to come visit when it reopens!
Transportation to the Western Wall for Bar Mitzvah familiesThe Western Wall Train and Shuttle bus depart from Jaffa Gate and return every 20 minutes between 08:40 and 13:20 – The travel is free for Bar Mitzvah families.Departure point - Karta Parking Lot B (the bus parking lot parallel to Yitzhak Kariv Street)Destination- Goren Square near the Western Wall.
Ohel Yitzchak Synagogue is a place of prayer on weekdays and holy days, and is not open to the general public. Students and IDF soldiers are invited to visit the synagogue as part of tours and educational programs led by The Western Wall Heritage Foundation.
It is uncommon nowadays to find such an exact replica of a building that was intentionally destroyed down to its foundation.
The Ohel Yitzchak Synagogue is an exact replica of astructure destroyed in 1948 by the Jordanian army. The synagogue had served the Jewish-Ashkenazi community from the middle of the 19th century until the middle of the War of Independence in the Old City of Jerusalem.
Among those who lived in the structure was the family of Rabbi Shmuel Lazer Guterman of Galicia-whose stories inspired Shai Agnon
. Every Rosh Chodesh (beginning of the Hebrew month), the author Shai Agnon would come to visit the rabbi to hear about the Jews of Galicia. The stories he heard became the source of many of the author’s writings. The courtyard itself is mentioned in his story “Tehila”.
After Jerusalem's liberation (1967) the building housed the Old City's first Jewish-owned bookstore for holy scriptures since 1948
bookstore for holy scriptures (sifrei kodesh) “Rishon LeZion Ha’atika” that was opened on the ground floor after Jerusalem was liberated in 1967 was the first Jewishly-owned store in the Old City since the War of Independence in 1948.
The wave of Jewish settlement in the 19th century brought about an expansion of population enclaves outside the walls of the Jewish Quarter, when early settlers purchased lands, mainly in the Muslim Quarter of today, and set up courtyards for their communities. One of the areas in highest demand was the Hebron Quarter, a section close to the Western Wall and the Temple Mount, which in its heyday housed 5,000 Jews from various communities.
The Western Wall Plaza is home to some of the most interesting historical tourist sites in the world, which offer a unique perspective on the genealogy of the Jewish people and the history of Jerusalem. We invite you to visit the sites and enjoy an empowering and unforgettable experience.